Stop a Confidential VM
Stopping a Confidential VM from the DCD deallocates its resources and suspends billing. The VM remains in your infrastructure and can be restarted at any time from the DCD.
Important:
Shutting down a VM at the operating system level does not deallocate resources or suspend billing. Always use the DCD to stop Confidential VMs.
Stopping a VM will:
Suspend billing
Disconnect power to the VM
Deallocate any dynamically assigned IP address
To stop a Confidential VM, follow these steps:
1. In the DCD, go to Menu > Virtual Data Centers.
2. Select the data center where the Confidential VM is configured.
3. Select the respective Confidential VM in the Workspace.
4. In the Inspector pane, select Power > Stop. Optionally, you can also right-click on the VM and choose Power > Stop.

5. In the Power State dialog, select the checkbox to confirm the power cycle, and select Apply STOP.
6. Select PROVISION CHANGES.
7. In the Provision Data Center dialog, select Confirm.
8. In the Confirm Starting and Stopping of Servers dialog, enter your Password, and select OK.
9. Select Provision Now.
Result: The Confidential VM shuts down. The Inspector pane displays the status as Shut off, and an X marks the VM in the Workspace. The DCD deallocates the IP address and suspends billing.
Last updated
Was this helpful?