Setup Backup Units
Setting up automated backups requires the creation of Backup Units in which the backups of a group of servers are contained.
You will need to assign a unique Name and a Password for each Backup Unit. The Backup Unit is generated in the following format: <Contract number>-Name, for example: 31898953-Backup001.
Backup Units can be shared with other Users and Groups like other resources.
Prerequisites: Make sure you have the appropriate privileges. Only contract owners, administrators, or users with the Create Backup Units privilege can create a backup unit. Other user types have read-only access and can't provision changes.

Creating a Backup Unit

1. Open the Backup Unit Manager: Menu > Manager Resources > Backup Unit Manager
Select the manager from the menu.
A separate windows will open. Here you can manage VDC backups.
2. Click + Create to create a new Backup Unit
3. In the dialog, enter a unique Name, a Password, and an E-mail address to which the backup systems may send status reports.
4. Confirm your entries by clicking Create Unit.
Create a new Backup Unit from the Backup Unit Manager.
The Backup Unit is now created and added to the list on the right inside of the Backup Unit Manager.
Once created, the Backup Unit properties are displayed on the right side.

Deleting a Backup Unit

If you no longer need a backup unit and its backups, you can delete them to save costs and space. Deleting a Backup Unit also deletes all backups it contains.
When you delete a server and its storage devices or an entire data center, their backups are not deleted automatically. Only when you delete a Backup Unit will the backups it contains be deleted, too.
If you no longer need the backups of deleted VMs and want to save costs, you need to delete them manually in the Backup Management Console.
1. Open the Backup Unit Manager: Menu > Manager Resources > Backup Unit Manager
2. Select the required Backup Unit. Click Delete.
3. In the dialog that appears, confirm your action by entering your Password and clicking OK.
Deleting a Backup Unit requires password confirmation.
The selected item is deleted and cannot be restored. The Backup Unit and the backups it contains are deleted.

Automatic installation

The automatic setup of backups can only be applied to new servers prior to their first provisioning with an image provided and supported by IONOS. The default backup schedule may be changed any time after installation.
Prerequisites: Make sure you have the appropriate privileges. Only contract owners, administrators, or users with the Create Backup Units and Create Internet Access privilege can create a backup unit automatically. Other user types have read-only access and can't provision changes.
1. Create a new Server in a VDC.
2. Add a boot drive to the Server.
3. Select an IONOS image: Inspector > Images > IONOS Images
4. In the Backup Unit field, select a backup unit to which you wish to assign the server
Create a new Server, add Storage and choose a Backup Unit in the Inspector on the right.
Alternatively, When no Backup Unit is available, you may create one.
5. Inspector > Backup Unit > + Create Backup Unit and assign it to the server.
6. When a Backup Unit is chosen, the Initialize Backup window opens. Click OK to finalize.
The Initialize Backup window opens once you select a Backup Unit for your Storage device.
Once the Backup Unit is chosen for your Server, you can continue by adding Internet access or further modifying the VDC.
7. When ready, Provision Changes.
The server is provisioned, the backup agent is installed and the default backup plan activated.
Last modified 1mo ago