Manage Objects

Prerequisites: Make sure you are logged on to the IONOS S3 Object Storage using the Object Storage Management Console. Only bucket owners can create a folder.
1. Create a bucket or open the bucket or folder to which objects should be added.
2. Click Upload File.
3. Click + Add files to select all files to be uploaded.
4. (Optional) Activate the Store encrypted check box to encrypt your files on the server and increase the security of your data. Files are automatically decrypted during download.
5. Upload all - click Start Upload, or individual files - click the Start button of the item.
6. The upload status is displayed:
(Optional) To stop the upload, click Cancel. Otherwise, close the dialog box.
Uploading Files to Manage Objects
The Upload Files modal will open up:
Starting upload procedure in Manage Objects workflow
The files are uploaded and displayed in the bucket to which they were added.
Objects (files) of any format can be uploaded to and stored in the IONOS S3 Object Storage. Objects may not exceed 5 GB in size if uploaded using the Object Storage Management Console. Other applications or the S3 Object Storage API are not subject to this limit.

It is possible to use the Object Storage Management Console to search for files in their object storage if the prefix or full name is known. For technical reasons, it is not possible to search for objects across buckets or folders.
Prerequisites: Make sure you are logged on to the IONOS S3 Object Storage using the Object Storage Management Console.
1. Open the bucket or folder you wish to search.
2. Click on Search by Prefix.
3. In the dialog box, enter the prefix or file name and click Ok.
Search by Prefix option to search the objects in Object Storage Management Console
Following Search By Prefix modal will open up:
Search By Prefix modal
Files matching your search criteria should be displayed.

Prerequisites: Make sure you have access to the required object. You must be logged in to the IONOS S3 Object Storage using the Object Storage Management Console.
1. Open the bucket containing the required object.
2. (Optional) If versioning is active, all available versions of an object can be viewed by clicking on Show Versions in the Objects tab.
3. Click on the item to download, or if an object has been shared through a public URL, open the URL and download the object from there.
The downloaded object is shown below
If no other version of a file has been selected, the latest version will be downloaded.

When versioning is enabled for a bucket, versions are saved for each of its objects. When the user uploads an object with the same name more than once, to the same bucket or folder, all of its versions - current and previous - are stored.
Versioning is not activated by default. Objects that were already uploaded to the object storage before versioning was activated are identified by ID null. If versioning is deactivated, existing object versions are retained.
Versioning of objects increases object storage volume and will be charged accordingly.
Prerequisites: Make sure you have access to the required object. You must be logged in to the IONOS S3 Object Storage using the Object Storage Management Console.
  1. 1.
    In the Buckets tab, open Properties.
  2. 2.
    Open the Versioning tab.
  3. 3.
    Enable versioning: click Enable.
  4. 4.
    Disable versioning: click Suspend.
Versioning is activated or deactivated for the selected bucket.
Enable versioning
Disable versioning
To show the versions of an object, click Show Versions in the Objects tab. Object versions can be deleted and managed like normal objects.
UI Options available for the Show Versions tab

If the user no longer wants to keep objects in the IONOS S3 Object Storage, these objects can be deleted. Deleted objects are not physically removed from the object storage, but receive a so-called "delete marker" and then have a size of 0 KB. These markers are deleted at an interval specified by the user or by the system.
There are two ways to delete objects from the IONOS S3 Object Storage using the Object Storage Management Console: manually and automatically.

Prerequisites: Make sure you are the bucket owner. You must be logged in to the IONOS S3 Object Storage using the Object Storage Management Console.
  1. 1.
    Open the bucket or folder containing the required objects.
  2. 2.
    To delete individual versions of an object, click Show Versions.
  3. 3.
    To delete one object or the object version, click Delete at the end of each entry.
Deleting objects manually
4. To delete several objects or object versions, activate their checkboxes.
5. To delete a folder and its contents, activate its checkbox.
Unlike buckets, folders do not have to be empty to be deleted.
6. Click Delete.
7. In the dialog box, confirm the action by clicking Ok.
Confirmation dialogue box
The selected objects are deleted. Folders containing other objects are deleted with their entire contents without notice.

It is possible to quickly delete the contents of buckets without having to select individual objects or object versions. This is useful if the user wants to delete files, such as log files, regularly or automate the deletion of the contents of a bucket using the Object Storage Management Console. This requires the definition of rules and schedules.
Objects are deleted within several hours. Short-term deletion is not possible in an automated mode.
Prerequisites: Make sure you are the bucket owner. You must be logged in to the IONOS S3 Object Storage using the Object Storage Management Console.
  1. 1.
    Open Properties in the Buckets tab.
  2. 2.
    Open Lifecycle Policy tab.
  3. 3.
    Click + Add new rule.
Deleting objects automatically
4. (Optional) In the Rule Name, enter a name that describes the rule (e. g. “delete all”).
5. In the Object Prefix, enter the complete path to the objects. Folders are separated by /.
Example: 2015/ affects all objects contained in the 2015 folder, including other subfolders.
Leave the field empty if to delete all objects in the bucket.
6. Activate the Expire Objects checkbox.
Adding a new bucket lifecycle rule
Actions in further input fields
  1. 1.
    Choose which object versions to delete:
  • If versioning is activated for a bucket:
    Current Version: The last or current version of an object.
    Previous Version: All existing versions of an object with the exception of the current version.
  • If versioning is not activated: Select Current Version.
2. Define when the objects are to be deleted:
  • Current Version:
  • Fixed date: In the After Date field, select date and time. Further entries have no influence on this setting. The number of days after creation date: Select Use Creation Date/Time field below. Then define the number of days in the Days After Creation Date field.
  • The number of days after last access: Select Use Last Access Time field below. Then define the number of days in the Days After Last Access Date/Time field.
Actions required for adding object expiration
If several rules are created for different objects of a bucket, all rules must use the same appointment type (1., 2. or 3.).
  • Previous Version:
  • (Optional) To completely remove objects marked as deleted, choose Clean Up Expired Object Delete Markers.
For technical reasons, it is not possible to automatically delete the current version of an object and remove all its deleted previous versions at the same time. Deleted object versions are marked with a "delete marker" and are recognizable by a corresponding icon.
It is not possible to apply this clean-up if a rule has been defined for automatically deleting the current object versions. The checkbox cannot be activated in this case, and the message "You cannot enable clean up expired object delete markers if you enable Expiration" displays.
  • (Optional) To remove incomplete parts of a multi-part upload, choose Clean Up Incomplete Multipart Uploads.
  • Confirm entries by clicking Save.
Clean Up Incomplete Multipart Uploads
The rule is saved and the selected objects are deleted at the defined time.
Export as PDF
Copy link
On this page
Uploading objects
Searching objects
Downloading objects
Versioning objects
Deleting objects
Deleting objects automatically