Manage DNS Zones

Note: Only contract administrators, owners, and users with Access and manage DNS privilege can create and manage DNS zones and records. You can set user privileges in the DCD or the API.

Create a DNS Zone

To create a zone, follow these steps:

  1. In the DCD, go to Menu > Management > Networking > Cloud DNS.

Info: The Zones overview section displays the DNS zones already created.

  1. Click Create Zone to open the Create Primary Zone window.

  1. Enter the following details in the Create Primary Zone window:

    • Name: Enter an appropriate name for your DNS zone.

    • Description: Enter an appropriate description for your DNS zone.

    • Status: Set it to either Enabled (Default) or Disabled.

Note: When a zone is disabled, its corresponding SOA record is removed, and the zone is no longer associated with IONOS nameservers.

  1. Click Create Zone to create the DNS zone.

The success message for creation provides you the option to copy the IONOS nameservers to configure the domain at your registrar. Alternatively, you can also proceed to create records within the created zone.

Result: Your DNS zone is now created.

View the list of DNS Zones

After creation, you can view the list of zones and manage them as required.

To view a list of the zones, follow these steps:

  1. In the DCD, go to Menu > Management > Networking > Cloud DNS.

Result: A list of all zones is displayed in Zones overview. You will see the following details:

  • Name: Displays the name of the zone.

  • State: Displays the state of the respective zone.

    • Available: Indicates that the zone is available and healthy.

    • Provisioning: Indicates that the zone is being created or updated.

    • Destroying: Indicates that the zone is being deleted.

    • Failed: Indicates that an error occurred during creation, update or deletion.

  • Enabled/Disabled: Indicates if the zone is currently enabled or disabled.

  • Actions: Select the three dots to perform the following operations:

    • Details and Records: Select to view the details of the respective zones and manage its records.

    • Copy Zone UUID: Copy the UUID of the zone.

    • Copy endpoint HREF: Copy the Cloud DNS API HREF of the zone. It is especially useful when using the Cloud DNS API for advanced DNS management.

View details of a DNS Zone

To view details of a given zone, follow these steps:

  1. In the DCD, go to Menu > Management > Networking > Cloud DNS.

  2. From the Zones overview, select the zone for which you want to view the DNS zone details.

Result: The details of the selected zones is displayed in the Zone details. You will see the following information:

  • Enabled/Disabled: Indicates if the zone is currently enabled or disabled.

  • Name: Displays the name of the zone.

  • Description: Displays the description of the zone.

  • State: Displays the state of the respective zone.

    • Available: Indicates that the zone is available and healthy.

    • Provisioning: Indicates that the zone is being created or updated.

    • Destroying: Indicates that the zone is being deleted.

    • Failed: Indicates that an error occurred during creation, update or deletion.

  • Zone UUID: Displays the UUID of the zone.

  • Last Modified Date: Displays the last modified date of the zone.

  • Created Date: Displays the creation date of the zone.

  • Nameservers: Displays the nameservers of the zone.

Update details of a DNS Zone

To update details of a given zone, follow these steps:

  1. In the DCD, go to Menu > Management > Networking > Cloud DNS.

  2. From the Zones overview, select the zone for which you want to update the DNS zone details.

  3. From the Zone details, enable or disable the zone status as needed. You can also update the description.

  4. Click Update Zone.

Result: The details of your zones are updated.

Delete a DNS Zone

To delete a given zone, follow these steps:

  1. In the DCD, go to Menu > Management > Networking > Cloud DNS.

  2. From the Zones overview, select the zone you want to delete.

  3. From the Zone details, click Delete Zone.

  4. Click Delete from the Delete Primary Zone confirmation dialog box.

Note: Alternatively, you can delete multiple zones either in bulk or individually by using the Actions button in the Zone overview.

Result: Your zone is deleted.

Last updated